Skip to content
Agents online · Mon–Fri 8:00–4:30 ET
Montreal HQ · Serving North America
1-888-287-3732
In-house calibration
Fast worldwide shipping
Real tech support
Built by Engineers

Cut Resistant Gloves: How to Read the Ratings and Choose a Cut Level in Canada

Cut-resistant work gloves on a steel workbench beside sheet metal offcuts

Cut-resistant work gloves on a steel workbench beside sheet metal offcuts

In This Article

    A cut-resistant glove's rating is one lab result, the force a smooth blade needs to get through the material, reported on one of two scales. This guide decodes both, ANSI/ISEA 105's A1 to A9 levels and the EN 388 letters, then sorts the Ronco gloves in ERE's hand protection collection by the cut level printed on each product record (A1 to A6), so you can shortlist by hazard instead of by the biggest number.

    In this guide


    What Do Cut Levels A1 to A9 Actually Measure?

    They measure the force a straight blade needs to cut through the glove material. ANSI/ISEA 105 takes that force, measured in gram-force on a tomodynamometer following ASTM F2992, and sorts it into nine levels. ASTM describes the method as assessing "the cut resistance of a material when exposed to a cutting edge under specified loads", a way to compare materials, not a promise about any particular blade.

    ISEA's Key to Hand Classifications sets the thresholds and groups the levels by the injury they protect against:

    ANSI/ISEA 105 level Cut resistance (gram-force) ISEA cut-hazard label What ISEA says it protects against
    A1 ≥ 200 Light scrapes
    A2 ≥ 500 Light to medium scrapes
    A3 ≥ 1,000 Light to medium scrapes
    A4 ≥ 1,500 Medium cuts for which stitches would be required
    A5 ≥ 2,200 Medium to heavy cuts for which stitches would be required
    A6 ≥ 3,000 High cuts for which stitches would be required
    A7 ≥ 4,000 High brutal or extreme injuries
    A8 ≥ 5,000 High brutal or extreme injuries
    A9 ≥ 6,000 High brutal or extreme injuries

    Two details are worth knowing before you read a label. First, the current edition is ANSI/ISEA 105-2024, released in November 2024. ISEA's Hand Protection Product Group chair said it "does not make any major changes to test methods or levels of protection"; the big change is a pentagon label with the cut rating on top, abrasion on the left, puncture on the right and an X where a property was not tested (ISEA announcement). Second, ISEA asks suppliers to write the standard as "ANSI/ISEA 105" plus the year rather than "ANSI Cut" or "ANSI 105". Some ERE product records still carry the manufacturer's older "ANSI Cut" wording; read those as the same A-levels.


    Why Can One Glove Show Both “Level 5” and “A4”?

    Because the two numbers come from different tests on different scales. EN 388:2016 reports two separate cut results, and ANSI/ISEA 105 adds its own A-level scale.

    In the EN 388:2016 marking, the second character is the older "Blade Cut" score from the Coupe test, a rotating circular blade scored 0 to 5. The fifth character is the newer score: the tomodynamometer result in newtons, lettered A to F (ISO 13997 is the test method). The Coupe blade can dull on highly cut-resistant yarn, so on higher-performing gloves the TDM letter is the score to read, and the Coupe position often shows an X (not applicable).

    ERE's own records show the difference. The 69-560 record prints "Blade Cut Resistance: Level 5" and "ANSI Cut: Level A4" for the same glove. The 5 is the Coupe score; the A4 is the ISEA level from the TDM method. They are not in conflict, they answer different questions.

    How Do You Decode an EN 388 Code Like 4X43F?

    The label on the PrimaCut 69-244T reads EN 388:2016 4X43F, and its record gives the same values in words. Read the five characters left to right:

    Position Property Code on the 69-244T Meaning (record wording where it gives one)
    1 Abrasion 4 Abrasion resistance: Level 4
    2 Blade cut (Coupe) X Coupe test not applicable; the TDM letter is used instead (the record gives no Coupe value)
    3 Tear 4 Tear resistance: Level 4
    4 Puncture 3 Puncture resistance: Level 3
    5 Cut (ISO 13997 TDM) F Cut resistance: TDM Level F, with ANSI Cut Level A6

    How Do EN 388 Letters Line Up With ISEA Levels?

    Both scales come from the same kind of TDM test, so the force bands overlap. Use the table for orientation only: a glove carries a rating on a scale only if it was tested and marked for that scale.

    ANSI/ISEA 105 level Threshold (gram-force) EN 388:2016 TDM letter Threshold (newtons)
    A1 ≥ 200 A ≥ 2
    A2 ≥ 500 B ≥ 5
    A3 ≥ 1,000 C ≥ 10
    A4 ≥ 1,500 D ≥ 15
    A5 ≥ 2,200 E ≥ 22
    A6 ≥ 3,000 F ≥ 30
    A7 ≥ 4,000 F (EN 388 stops at F) ≥ 30
    A8 ≥ 5,000 F (EN 388 stops at F) ≥ 30
    A9 ≥ 6,000 F (EN 388 stops at F) ≥ 30

    EN 388 stops at F, so an F-rated glove could sit anywhere from A6 to A9 on the ISEA scale. ERE's records fit the table: the PrimaCut Plus 69-700 prints A4 with TDM level D, and the 69-244T prints A6 with TDM level F.

    Do the Puncture and Abrasion Scales Match Too?

    No. ISEA's puncture scale runs to 5 and EN 388's to 4, so one glove can show two different puncture numbers. ERE's PrimaCut 69-6445 record lists ISEA puncture 4 and the EN 388:2016 code 4X43F (puncture 3): one glove, two scales.


    Which Cut Level Does the Job Need?

    One that covers the edge you actually handle without taking away the dexterity the task needs. CCOHS's glove selection guidance starts from the hazard, not the glove: describe the task, identify every hazard that needs hand protection (abrasion, tearing, puncture, temperature, chemicals), and decide how much flexibility and touch sensitivity the task needs, because that can limit how thick the material can be. CCOHS also reminds employers that PPE is considered the least effective control in the hierarchy of controls and is no replacement for engineering controls.

    Once you have the hazard, ISEA's bands give you a starting point: A1–A3 for scrapes, A4–A6 for cuts that would need stitches, A7–A9 for brutal or extreme injuries. Read the manufacturer's "light duty" and "heavy duty" labels with caution, because they are not standardized. The PrimaCut 69-250 record calls A2 both "light duty" (in the description) and "medium duty cut resistance" (in the feature list), and the PrimaCut 69-580 record calls A4 "heavy duty" while ISEA labels A4 "medium". Compare the level, not the adjective.

    What Do ERE’s Own Records Say About Use at Each Level?

    • A1: the Flexsor 76-805 record lists assembly, shipping and receiving, and material handling.
    • A2: the 69-250 record describes "light duty applications where superficial blade cuts, snags or scrapes can occur"; the PrimaCut 69-882 record says "light to medium material handling".
    • A3: the PrimaCut 69-380 record says it is designed to guard against "accidental blade cuts, snags, and scrapes" in medium-duty applications.
    • A4: the 69-580 record describes "jobs with high cut and scrape hazards".
    • A6: the PrimaCut 69-280 record names "handling sharp objects such as recycling, automotive and HVAC"; the PrimaCut 69-6184 record names "metal fabrication, construction, and automotive tasks".

    These are the manufacturer's descriptions on the product records. They are a starting point for a shortlist, not a substitute for your own hazard assessment.


    How Do ERE’s Ronco Cut-Resistant Gloves Line Up by Level?

    The Ronco gloves and sleeves in ERE's hand protection collection that state an A-level on the product record run from A1 to A6. The table sorts fifteen of them by that level and quotes each rating as printed on the record. Ask ERE for current availability, sizes and lead times, and confirm the ratings against the spec sheet or the pentagon label before you specify, because the ratings on the record are the manufacturer's.

    Model Cut level as printed Liner (gauge) Coating / palm Other ratings as printed
    Flexsor 76-805 A1 15-gauge polyester/spandex/nylon shell micro-foam nitrile EN 388:2016 abrasion 3
    PrimaCut 69-250 A2 13-gauge aramid nitrile —
    PrimaCut 69-882 A2 15-gauge Hytec yarn polyurethane (PU) touchscreen compatible
    PrimaCut 69-380 A3 13-gauge HPPE polyurethane EN 388:2016 tear 4, abrasion 4, puncture 2
    PrimaCut Plus 69-700 A4 18-gauge HPPE/nylon foam nitrile TDM level D; abrasion 4, tear 4, puncture 3
    PrimaCut 69-580 A4 HPPE (gauge not stated) polyurethane; thumb-index reinforcement (TIR) EN 388:2016 tear 4, abrasion 4, puncture 3
    PrimaCut 69-560 A4 HPPE (gauge not stated) nitrile; thumb-index reinforcement (TIR) Blade Cut level 5 (Coupe); tear 4, abrasion 4, puncture 3
    PrimaCut 68-474-18 sleeves A4 13-gauge HPPE none: 18″ sleeve, thumb loop, Velcro bicep closure washable
    PrimaCut 69-594W A5 13G HPPE/steel/glass fibre, acrylic terry fleece double latex EN 388:2016 tear 4, abrasion 3, puncture 3
    Wrangler's 75-282 A5 aramid liner, grain-leather palm leather ISEA 105 heat level 4
    PrimaCut 69-244T A6 13-gauge HPPE sandy nitrile, double-dipped EN 388:2016 4X43F (TDM F); touchscreen compatible
    PrimaCut 69-280 A6 18-gauge HPPE polyurethane abrasion 4, puncture 2, tear 4
    PrimaCut 69-6445 A6 18-gauge HPPE/spandex sandy nitrile EN 388:2016 4X43F; ISEA 105 puncture 4, abrasion 4
    PrimaCut 69-6184 A6 7-gauge aramid with stainless steel leather palm —
    Wrangler's 72-470 A6 aramid liner, goatskin grain-leather driver style leather ISEA 105 abrasion 4, puncture 4; ANSI/ISEA 138 impact level 2

    Three things the table does not show. Nothing on these records states an A-level above A6. A few records print the level without the "A" prefix, so they are left out: the PrimaCut 69-572T says "ANSI cut level 5", and the PrimaCut Earth 69-100E says "ANSI Cut: Level 4" next to "Cut Resistance: Level D". The PrimaCut 69-510 record uses a different label again, "CE Cut Level 6". Confirm the exact rating for those three before specifying. And the records are not always consistent inside themselves; the Wrangler's 75-282 record lists puncture level 4 in one place and level 5 in another. That is one more reason to check the pentagon label on the pair you actually receive.


    Which Liner, Coating and Gauge Go With Each Cut Level?

    The liner sets the cut level, the coating sets grip and how the glove handles oil or water, and the gauge sets how bulky the knit is. Keep the three separate when you compare gloves.

    What Liners Show Up Across the Range?

    • HPPE (high-performance polyethylene): the liner on most PrimaCut gloves, from A3 (69-380) to A6 (69-244T, 69-280, 69-6445).
    • Aramid: the 69-250 at A2, the 75-282 at A5, and the Wrangler's 72-470 and 69-6184 at A6. CCOHS lists Kevlar, metal mesh and staple-reinforced heavy leather for severe sharp-edge hazards, and leather and aramid terry cloth for less severe ones.
    • Blends with steel or glass fibre: the PrimaCut 69-594W (13G HPPE/steel/glass fibre) and the 69-6184 (aramid with stainless steel). By contrast, the 69-882 description says its yarn "does not require glass or steel filaments that may cause itchiness".

    Does Gauge Tell You the Cut Level?

    No. Gauge is stitches per inch, so a higher number means a finer, thinner knit. ERE's records pair the 18-gauge liners (69-700, 69-280, 69-6445) with flexibility and dexterity, but the 13-gauge liners on this range appear at A2 (69-250), A3 (69-380), A4 (the PrimaCut 68-474-18 sleeves), A5 (69-594W) and A6 (69-244T). Gauge describes bulk; the printed level describes cut resistance.

    What Do the Coatings and Extra Features Add?

    • Sandy or foam nitrile: the 69-244T record cites a sandy nitrile coating with "great grip and oil resistance".
    • Polyurethane: the 69-280 record cites grip on "dry, lightly wet and oily surfaces".
    • Double latex: the 69-594W pairs it with an acrylic terry fleece liner for cold conditions.
    • Touchscreen-compatible fingertips: the 69-244T and 69-882.
    • Thumb-index reinforcement (TIR): the 69-580 and 69-560.
    • Sleeves: the 68-474-18 is an 18″ HPPE sleeve with a nylon thumb loop and an adjustable Velcro closure at the bicep; its record says it is washable without loss of cut resistance.

    Two cautions. A record's "oil-resistant" or "resistant to oil and oil-based chemicals" line is a general claim: CCOHS is blunt that no glove material stays impervious to a specific chemical forever, and that selection should rest on the safety data sheet and permeation and breakthrough data. And CCOHS advises against wearing gloves with metal parts near electrical equipment, which is worth checking for steel-blend liners such as the 69-594W and 69-6184 before they go near live equipment.


    What Does a Cut Rating Not Cover?

    Anything other than a smooth, sharp edge drawn across the material. ASTM F2992 says so in its own scope: the method "only addresses that range of cutting hazards that are related to a cutting action by a smooth sharp edge across the surface of the material" and is not representative of "serrated edges, saw blades, or motorized cutting tools", nor of "puncture, tear, or other modes of fabric failure". ISO 13997 adds that its test gives no data on penetration by pointed objects such as needles and thorns, or on the point of a sharp-edged blade.

    In practice that means separate questions, each with its own rating or none: cut (the A-level), puncture and abrasion (their own scales on the same pentagon label), impact (ISEA has a separate standard, ANSI/ISEA 138; the 72-470 record lists impact level 2 under it), and heat or chemicals (no cut rating speaks to either; for heat, see Heat Resistant Gloves: How to Read the Temperature and Level Claims in Canada). A cut level describes performance in a controlled lab test against one kind of blade. It is not a guarantee against every edge, and it does not replace engineering controls.


    How Do You Choose Cut-Resistant Gloves, Step by Step?

    1. List the edges and the tools. Sheet metal, glass, banding, blades, castings. Note whether the edge is smooth or serrated, since the rating only speaks to smooth edges.
    2. Note every other hazard. Puncture, abrasion, heat, cold, chemicals and impact each need their own rating; a cut level covers none of them.
    3. Pick the cut level from the hazard, not the duty label. Use ISEA's bands (A1–A3 scrapes, A4–A6 cuts needing stitches, A7–A9 brutal or extreme) and step up only as far as the assessment supports, because more protection usually costs dexterity.
    4. Match liner, coating and gauge to the conditions. Wet or oily grip, touchscreen use, cold, and whether steel- or glass-blend liners are acceptable near your equipment.
    5. Read the exact ratings on the pair you will receive. Check the pentagon label or the spec sheet for the A-level and the EN 388 code; do not rely on a product headline.
    6. Trial a few pairs, then request a quote. Ask ERE for sizes, availability and lead time on the models that pass the trial.

    Need help matching a cut level to your task?

    ERE Inc. has been Canada's environmental equipment specialist for 30+ years. Tell us the edges, the tools and the conditions, and we will shortlist Ronco gloves and sleeves by the level printed on the product record.

    → Request a Quote | 1-888-287-EREC | Browse Hand Protection | sales@ereinc.com

    Frequently Asked Questions

    What is the highest cut level for a glove?

    On ISEA's ANSI/ISEA 105 scale the top level is A9, which starts at 6,000 gram-force. EN 388 stops at F, which starts near the A6 force band. None of the Ronco product records in ERE's hand protection collection states an A-level above A6.

    Is ANSI A4 the same as EN 388 level D?

    They cover the same force band, since A4 starts at 1,500 gram-force and level D at 15 newtons, but they are separate scales, and a glove carries a rating only on the scales it was tested and marked for. ERE's PrimaCut Plus 69-700 record lists both: A4 and TDM level D.

    Why does one glove list Blade Cut Level 5 and ANSI A4?

    They are different tests. The Blade Cut number is EN 388's older Coupe test, scored 0 to 5; the A-level comes from the tomodynamometer method in ASTM F2992 and ANSI/ISEA 105. ERE's PrimaCut 69-560 record prints both for the same glove.

    Are cut-resistant gloves also puncture-resistant?

    Not automatically. ASTM F2992 excludes puncture from its scope, so puncture is rated on its own scale. ERE's records show the difference: the PrimaCut 69-380 and 69-280 list puncture level 2, while the 69-244T, 69-580, 69-560 and Plus 69-700 list level 3.

    Can cut-resistant gloves and sleeves be washed?

    It depends on the model. ERE's records say the PrimaCut 69-560 and 69-882 gloves are machine washable and the 68-474-18 sleeves are washable without loss of cut resistance. Check the record for the exact model.

    Lire en français : Gants anti-coupure : comment lire les niveaux de coupe et choisir pour le Canada